OctoberQuest

My roommates and I decided to watch as many spoopy movies as we could in October, therefore creating OctoberQuest. I’m not one for horror and gore, so most if not all of these are pretty tame. So far we’ve been watching one every other night or a couple on the weekends, and we’re already halfway through the list! (except we keep adding to the list so we will probably just marathon through on Halloween night lol) Here is the list in question:

  • 7T1ngQEtKBYobvriHYwGLaWTVoZ
    Halloweentown
    – A personal favorite of mine, full of nostalgia and sick 90’s style burns, a Disney Channel Original Movie classic about a girl who discovers she is from a family of witches and must help save Halloweentown from destruction.
  • Twitches (Haven’t watched yet but a favorite as well, it’s about” two teen witches who were separated at birth and were adopted by two different families meet on their 21st birthday and must use their powers to save the world in which they were born, where their birth mother still lives.” iMDB summary)
  • The Haunting Hour: Don’t Think About It – Your typical middle school movie about a goth girl at a new school with an annoying little brother that accidentally summons a monster by reading a book aloud she shouldn’t have. This was my first time watching it, but it originally came out in 2007 (primeThe_nightmare_before_christmas_poster middle school age) which is when my roommate watched it and probably why she loves it.
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas– A Halloween staple! If you
    haven’t watched this by now I highly recommend you should.
  • The Haunted Mansion – Loosely based on the attraction “The Haunted Mansion” at Disneyland, it follows a family with realtor parents who get called to a mansion, but soon discover it’s haunted.
  • Blair_Witch_ProjectThe Blair Witch Project– I’ve never seen this movie or any other “found film” movies before, so I had no idea what to expect. It starts off slow but it keeps building the suspense and by the end we were throughly freaked out. One of my roommates has seen “found film” movies before and she said it was one of the better ones.
  • Casper – I’ve only seen this movie a couple times when I was younger so it was so much fun to watch it now. It’s about “A paranormal expert and his daughter bunk in an abandoned house populated by 3 mischievous ghosts and one friendly one.” -iMDB
  • Corpse Bride – I never got around to watching this movie until now, but I always love Tim Burton movies so I went in with high hopes, and it definitely delivered. It gives you a different perspective of love and marriage, all the while keeping with the creepy style of Tim Burton. 
  • Sleepy Hollow (1999) – I only knew the names of Ichabod Crane and the Headless Horseman so it MV5BMTY4NjMzNDY2N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDMyMDI5MQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_was fun to finally get them put to a story. Anything with Johnny Depp is usually great, and this movie is no exception.
  • Pay The Ghost –  I was just browsing a movie site and I see this thumbnail with Nicolas Cage’s face and I know we had to watch it. We immediately googled it and saw that it had 5% on Rotten Tomatoes, so we thought it was going to be a stupid scary movie, but we were so wrong. This is probably the third horror movie I’ve seen, so all the jump scares got me. One of my roommates lives for horror movies, and she said it was average and had a decent plot, so we have no idea why it got such a bad rating.
  • Edward Scissorhands –I’ve heard so much about this movie and how everyone loves it, but this whole time I thought it was a horror movie, when it’s really a modern fairy tale, which is one of my favorite genres. The aesthetic is wonderful, with the stark contrast between the pastel colored suburban houses and the dark gothic castle and Edward’s dark outfit. Easily one of my top 10 movies. 

We have so much more, like Hocus Pocus and Ghostbusters, but we’re saving the best for last. Wish us luck on our quest and Happy Halloween!!!

tumblr_nbjj2zZDOY1qjnxico7_500

7 thoughts on “OctoberQuest

  1. This list has been so much fun to watch with my roommates over the last few weeks. I tend to not enjoy horror movies either, but the mix of a few almost scary ones in with the almost ridiculous childhood halloween movies and Tim Burton films has been perfect. Since this was posted we have continued on in our quest by watching Ghostbusters 1 and 2, which happen to be personal favorites of mine and it definitely made for a good night.

    Like

  2. These are all great movies! I like that you guys thought of ones that aren’t super scary because Halloween doesn’t always have to be super scary! It is ESSENTIAL that you guys watch Beetlejuice if you haven’t already! Also The Sixth Sense isn’t scary but it is pretty trippy if you make it to the end!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love these movie choices for Halloween! There’s so many Halloween movies out there but many of them are super gory and scary or cheesy. This list has classics that I love like Halloweentown and Hocus Pocus which bring back the nostalgia from growing up watching Disney Channel movies. 😀

    Like

  4. Update on our quest: Unfortunately we were all loaded with midterms right before Halloween, so we could not complete our entire quest. 😦 However, we got through the important ones, like Hocus Pocus and both Ghostbusters. We kept adding to the list so we kinda sabotaged ourselves, but movies like Coraline and ParaNorman we can watch anytime.

    Like

  5. I liked that you not only chose classic horror movies to get the adrenaline going, but you also chose movies that have a Halloween theme and are either comedies or adventures! A lot of people do not like Halloween because it is the day of the dead, but I think in the United States, Halloween has just become a way for candy companies to make money and for children to get to dress up and being someone else for a day.

    Like

  6. The Blair Witch Project gave me the shivers and i had nightmares for days. I still get uncomfortable when running in the woods back home in Norway. I am always scared of night suddenly falling quickly and then being lost somewhere in the woods. If i do not bring my phone, i have no source of light and i would lose the trail if i tried moving in complete darkness.. Scary shit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

