Hayao Miyazaki

Hayao Miyazaki. To what I owe this man for his amazing films and plot lines, characters and animation. My favorite film of all time, Spirited Away, was, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful anime films I had ever seen. I instantly fell in love with his style and direction and watching the film left me wanting more. The Studio Ghibli collection will forever stay in my heart, true whimsical and wonderful films that all ages could enjoy.

Nausicaaposter   His films speak on a deeper level as well, making the viewer question certain values and lifestyles. I believe these films can be taken for much more than face value to really dissect and analyze society and its flaws. With Nausicaa: Valley of the Winds, the film may have its fantasy qualities but its overarching themes of anti-war and environmental awareness are relevant even today. This theme continues in his film Princess Mononoke, also addressing the issue of being aware of the environment and our impact. Some other themes in his films include coming of age, vulnerability, humanity, and technology. I believe his films speak to major themes and issues that can still be addresses and would recommend any of his films for one to see. I love them! Spirited_Away_poster

5 thoughts on “Hayao Miyazaki

  1. Yay Studio Ghibli!! All of their movies are super detailed and gorgeous, and are so much deeper than people make them out to be. Animation doesn’t equal kids movies, and this studio proves it.

    Like

  2. I’ve never seen anything from Studio Ghibli, but I’ve always kind of meant to watch something from them eventually. This post has reminded me of that and made me excited to get around to it, because the films look great. They remind me of the Japanese cartoons I used to watch sometimes when I was younger, but these aren’t just for kids and I really like that.

    Like

  3. I use to love watching Spirited Away when I was younger and saw Princess Mononoke a few years ago and thought it was great. Miyazaki’s messages within his films are very powerful. His concern for mankind’s effect on nature is something that I respect and admire. I have not seen Nausicaa: Valley of the Winds yet, so I’ll have to check that one out!

    Like

  4. I have always loved anime and different types of Manga, but i do not know many other back home with the same fascination. So i therefore do not often speak my mind about the subject. I really liked your post and will see Hayao as soon as possible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

