Absolute Cinema

Last week’s Absolute Cinema presentation was fascinating to me. The films did get monotonous after a few minutes, but the style was so unique that it was hard to take my eyes off the screen. I immediately thought of the introduction to 101 Dalmatians and The Pink Panther after seeing Symphonie Diagonale (1924) by Viking Eggeling. The introductions have very abstract looks to them. In 101 Dalmatians the spots from the dogs are hopping all over the screen containing credits within the spots. The Pink Panther introduction showed abstract shapes, containing the credits, entering and leaving shots. To me, this is an example of how Absolute Cinema has impacted more recent media. I will be keeping my eye out for more examples of Absolute Cinema in the movies that I view.

One thought on “Absolute Cinema

  1. I agree I thought the presentation on Absolute Cinema was fascinating as well! At first I wondered how it became popular and why, but then I was totally entranced. It really was hard to take my eyes off the screen, it was interesting and relaxing at the same time. I actually thought about the Pink Panther also!

    Like

Leave a Reply

