Thoughts on Baraka

Thoughts on Baraka

Baraka was a film unlike any other I had ever seen before. In a way in almost didn’t feel like I was watching a film at all, but rather a commercial for some travel agency. The fact that there was no real, characters, and/or storyline really gave me this impression. A few of the biggest things that set this film apart from others I have ever seen in the past was that it had no sound. Along with the fact that as the camera traveled around the world it didn’t seem to care much about showing the viewer where it was, but rather what was there to be seen.

Like I stated Baraka had no sound to it. This was something different for me because most films I watch are with sound. Although I have seen silent films in the past, all of the silent films I have ever seen have been in black and white. Along with that the films have all also had characters, and a story line. Baraka on the other hand had no real plot, characters, or a solid setting. The film was also in color, it was filled with bright vibrant colors from all over the world.

The other thing I thought that made Baraka such a different film was the fact that it never told you where it was located. I found it strange for a film to not have a consistent setting at first. Then I started looking for signs that would tell me all the different places the camera was showing. I soon found out that there wasn’t very much shown to help me know this. I feel like that is because the producer of this film wanted the viewers to not focus on where they were but what there was. I think by doing this it forces the viewer to notice more details about the location, and view it with a more open mind.

I think that the director of Baraka was trying to get the viewers the film to see the world through a more open mind. This way people could put aside all the things that had heard about a place that may change their outlook on it, and only see the true beauty it holds. This is done by not having any sound to distract the mind of the viewer. Along with not having any signs or hints to show were the camera was located. You can tell from watching this film that the director was really wanting to show off the natural beauty of all different types of religions, cultures, and places around the world.

 

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Baraka

  1. I like your interpretation of it, that it wasnt about where but whatand about having an open mind. I think it really was about this and the contrasting cultures and locations that are all on the same Earth. How different we are but are all the same at the same time.

    Like

  2. At first I was really frusterated that they didn’t show where the scenes were filmed too! I think it was because the directer wanted to show how alike many cultures are and that we should respect them no matter where they come from! It was a very beautiful movie and I really enjoyed watching it!

    Like

  3. I agree with your opinion about why the director chose not to say where the locations were located. The director wanted to show us the beauty of the world. That was his main focus. He did not want any preconceived ideas to enter our heads. By not telling us the location, we have a clear conscious and could just take in the sights and sounds of the scene and develop our own opinions of the world. I found myself guessing at locations throughout the entire film. I am very curious how many locations I would have guessed correctly.

    Like

  4. I wasn’t a big fan of Baraka. Halfway through it got really boring. It was better than watching random colors flash about for 10 minutes but I would never sit down with people and show them this film. I like the scene showing cities and how busy they are, but the music really compliments the scene. Baraka also kept jumping too much. You’d get interested in one location and within 5 minutes you’ve jumped around the globe. It wasn’t that bad of a film but it is a 5/10 in my book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

