25 Days of Christmas!

I don’t know about anyone else but as soon as I got a notification about the schedule for the 25 days of Christmas marathon I was instantly full of joy. The tradition of Christmas marathons, to me, means the start of a happy season full of family members sitting around the living room watching movies we watch every year and gingerbread cookies and hot chocolate. These movies, regardless of how many times I watch them will always bring me the same amount of joy and happiness as they did every year prior. I think its interesting to think about how influential and meaningful films can be to a person, especially ones that surround a also meaningful holiday.

For this post I’m going to cover 5 (but not all) of my favorite Christmas films that I am looking foward to seeing for the millionth time this season:

  1. Dr. Suess How the Grinch Stole Christmas! (the Jim Carrey version of course)MV5BMTM2NzgzNTk2Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjUxNjUyMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_ (1)

giphy (1)

 

  1. The Polar Express (who doesn’t love a coming of age story about believing!
  2. Home Alone
  3. A Christmas Carol
  4. And of course….Elf!! No reasoning needed, hands down my favorite

giphy

Sorry if I’m totally too early for this post but I couldn’t help myself!

8 thoughts on “25 Days of Christmas!

  1. Yessssss I’m so excited to curl up with some hot coco and watch some Christmas movies and not have to worry about finals!!! My top 3 are A Christmas Story, Elf, and Home Alone!

    Like

  2. It is never a bad time for Christmas movies! Films were made to bring people together whether it is within a theater or living room with friends and family. It has become part of our culture and norm that every family have at least one television in their home. Christmas is about spending time with those you love and I think ABC family has realized that watching Christmas movies are a tradition to families. the 25 Days of Christmas tradition on ABC family is so smart because it bring ratings up for them at an incredible rate during the month of December and it allows friends and families to experience movies that they grew up with.

    Like

  3. In Norway many people sit down and watch Three Nuts for Cinderella. A movie from Poland made in 1973. Its dubbed (which is unusual in Norway) and considered a classic.
    My favorite is to see the Christmas films from Disney, like those collections of stories form Micky, Donald, Goofy etc.

    Like

  4. I think my favorite christmas movie is the stop motion clay animation of the story of Santa. The film Chronicles Santa’s rise to power and how he obtained his magical abilities. There are a couple of those 70s claymation movies and they all have memorable songs.

    Like

  5. Would you believe me if I told you I’ve actually never seen the Polar Express… I’ve seen bits and pieces but have never actually seen the whole thing! Maybe that’s something I should do this Christmas 🙂 I love Elf, Home Alone and the Grinch of course, can’t live without those Christmas favorites.

    Like

  6. My favorites are The Polar Express, Home Alone, and A Christmas Carol. Never seen Elf before so maybe I have to do that this year. Can’t wait for Christmas break!

    Like

  7. Some I like to watch are The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus, The Year Without a Santa Claus, and The Nightmare Before Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

