Reaction to The Hunger Games Mockingjay Part 2

This weekend I saw Mockingjay Part 2, which is the last of four films based on Suzanne Collin’s trilogy The Hunger Games. I have only read the two first books of the series, so I had no idea of what would happen in this last movie. I loved the first three films, and I especially liked the third film Mockingjay Part 1. I think Mockingjay Part 1 did a great job with building up tension and the ending made my expectations for the last and final film high. I expected it to end with a bang and that the last film would be spectacular. The movie fulfilled my expectations to some extent, but the grand ending I was hoping for did not happened. Personally, I did not became as pleased as I hoped to by the ending. The ending was pleasing in some way, but not everything was as fulfilled as expected. Some would probably say that is a good thing but personally I like films to have this typical happy ending where everything works out for the hero. I also think it might have been unnecessary to divide the last book into two movies. I feel the plot was a little dragged out at some points and that the result might have become better with only one film. Set away from this, I still think the film was entertaining and I enjoyed myself watching it.

3 thoughts on “Reaction to The Hunger Games Mockingjay Part 2

  1. I completely agree with your thoughts on the ending! I feel like Suzanne Collins and the screenwriters felt like they owed it to the audience to make it a happy ending because the whole story is tragic and violent but I found it disappointing compared to the rest of the story! I really liked Mockingjay part 2 too but I felt that they could have made the beginning and end better.

    Like

  2. I only read 3/4 of this blog post because I did not want the ending of the movie to be spoiled. I have no idea if you mention it or not (better safe than sorry). That’s disappointing to hear that your expectation were not fulfilled by this movie. I really liked the other three film, especially the first one.

    Like

  3. I was super frustrated when the good guys and the new president wanted to inflict the same horror they went through on the innocent citizens. I am not going to spoil anything, but i thought the ending was rather satisfying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

