It’s a Girl

It’s a Girl is a documentary that talks about the treatment and killing of females in other countries simply for the fact that they are girls.

The film focuses on India and China and many other parts of the world today where girls are killed, aborted and abandoned simply because they are girls. The film states, “The United Nations estimates as many as 200 million girls(1) are missing in the world today because of this so-called “gendercide”.”

Girls who survive infancy are often subject to neglect, and many grow up to face extreme violence and even death at the hands of their own husbands or other family members. The film has interviews with familes who lost their girls (and saw nothing wrong with the fact they killed their daughters), parents who, on the other hand, fled to save their children, and others.

 

Listening and watching this film was both eye opening and terrifying. Even if you’re a guy I would recommend this film. The facts and shocking truth is something that is so widespread on a mass scale and it is not talked about either. You can watch it on Netflix and I really recommend it.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Girl

  1. I absolutely loved this documentary. The topic is extremely heartbreaking, but the message it has is extremely powerful. I think that since we live in the United States and for the most part are so accustomed to being known as “equal” to those around us, we tend to ignore the fact that it is 100% not like that across the world. There are so many countries where people are looked down upon due to their gender, race, or religion, and it’s awful. This documentary really opened my eyes to how cruel Chinese and Indian cultures can be to women.

    Like

  2. This world is so messed up I hate it. Poor girls. WHY. Why is it so hard to understand that females are just as important as men. Why do men believe they can abuse children and women like shit.

    I’m all for equality. I swear, it is even a problem for me that at the office where I work I have to cover my shoulders and upper arms because it is “indecent”. They say its just a dress code, but the people higher up they dont have to worry about it. Its like wooo sorry for my sexy arms?
    I understand Im not to dress in a revealing way to make people uncomfortable, but my arms? People can say what they want, Im sick and tired of being objectified and seen as less because im “the weaker gender”

    lol sorry for rant, this post just got my feels going

    Like

Leave a Reply

