Low Standards for Movies

I am notoriously known by friends and family members as being an unreliable source for movie recommendations. With a few notable exceptions, I don’t generally dislike many movies. My own personal rating scale is very warped. Most people have a scale from 1-10 (or 11 if they’re a fan of Spinal Tap) my scale would be somewhere along the line of 0, 5-7, 9-10 if that makes any sense whatsoever. I either LOVE a movie, think it’s okay, or despise the living hell out of it. The later does not happen very often.

Despite being perceived as having low standards for movies, I think I know where this lenient side of mine comes from. While watching a movie, even one that I recognize isn’t a masterpiece, I can’t help but to appreciate the amount of time and effort went into its creation. Really, the only movies I’ve ever hated are movies where I either see how little the creators cared about the movie blatantly displayed on screen, or movies that don’t have a clearly discernible point. To me, the purpose of cinema is to tell a story and if you aren’t effectively conveying your narrative you’re doing it wrong. As long as I walk out of a movie having seen a decently compelling story executed in a reasonable way I’m a happy camper, anything else is just gravy.

2 thoughts on “Low Standards for Movies

  1. I have to agree with you. For me, so many movies that I watch when compared to what my brother think of the same movie, we either agree or we both disagree. It’s normally the latter. For me any movie with a compelling storyline that engages me is a good movie. That is usually done if time is spent on it to perfect it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

