Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer & Nostalgia

10327219-large

Today is Sunday December 6th, 2015 and, coincidentally, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer premiered on Sunday December 6th, 1964- 51 years ago. I’ve been thinking about this movie a lot lately, while anticipating going home for Christmas. Being from the New Jersey, I look forward to snow, hot chocolate and freshly baked cookies around Christmas as well as sitting down with my family and watching the classic Christmas movies. Rudolph is a stop-motion animated film so it actually is pretty crappy as far as quality (it has since been restored), yet it always brings back nostalgia that makes me think of it as one of my favorite Christmas movies of all time! I think that’s something a lot of people consider when judging movies- what kind of feelings does it evoke when you watch it? Did you watch it as a child? Is it associated with good memories or bad ones? I even have an old stuffed animal back home that plays the Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer song when you squeeze it, as well as the ornaments from the movie which we put on our tree every year. I know for me, this movie was always an enjoyable experience and I can’t wait to watch it again this Christmas season 🙂

IMG_8244

One thought on “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer & Nostalgia

  1. It’s a shame that these types of movies are pretty much dying out, but I can’t blame them. Stop-motion is a very time intensive and consuming style of animation to make a movie in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

