The oddness of society

Growing up in the 21st century, I have been around computers and televisions my entire life. Not only were they common in almost every home I went into, but there were about 10 computers and 1 television in every classroom from my preschool days to high school days. I’ve adapted to having them all around me including as background noise when doing my homework. In recent years, films have leaned away from physical form and moved towards digital form. I then started to notice websites and companies become popular for offering instant television series and movies online and on tv. Such companies include OnDemand, Netflix, Hulu, Putlocker, and Amazon. There is a debate on whether instant video is a good or bad thing. I’ve found that a majority of my friends who own entire movie collections feel more attached to the movies when they are in physical form rather than storing them all in one folder on a laptop. I’ve also found that the people who prefer instant video on their televisions, phones, or laptops like it because of its quickness in loading and convenience in where they can watch it. I personally prefer digital video instead of a physical copy because I would like to be able to watch my favorite movie while waiting for my plane or when I am on the bus. What do you prefer?

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The oddness of society

  1. Can’t say one way or the other. I have movies both digital and in physical copies. The attachment to physical copies is greatly there, since it’s something you can actually hold in your own hands. Though, the physical movies can be damaged and rendered useless more easily than a digital copy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

