HIFF Wrap

     Overall, I really enjoyed the Hawaii International Film Festival. It was really cool to be able to see movies from all over the world. Especially, since I am Japanese, I was very happy to get to see all the Japanese movies I missed. I saw five movies at the HIFF; Hana’s Miso Soup, the Boy and the Beast, Yosemite, Journey to the Shore, and 100 Yen Love.

     My favorite movie was the animated film, the Boy and the Beast, because it was so fun and cute to watch. However, I really liked all of the movies I watched. I felt that the movies shown at the film festival were carefully chosen by staff members. I only got to see American and Japanese movies, so next time I want to see more movies from different countries.

     If there was one thing that could have been improved, I would say it could have lasted longer. I really felt this film festival was short. When people started to know that the festival was going on, it was about to be over. If it lasted longer people could have heard about HIFF and the festival could have got more people to attend.

     This summer, I worked at an international film festival in Tokyo. Because of this experience, I totally understand how hard it is to manage a film festival. It needs a lot of staff members to carry on the festival, and they have to take care of guests from all over the world. It should have been so hard scheduling the show times. However, the staff members at the film festival were very kind and did fast work. They knew what they were doing and they were very helpful. By seeing how happy the guests were, I felt they were very well taken care of.

     I have been attending this film festival since last year and this was my third time going. I especially loved that they had a Photo Booth this year. Maybe they already had one last year but I don’t think I saw it before. I sure will come back next year and am really looking forward to it.

One thought on “HIFF Wrap

  1. I really enjoyed your post about HIFF. I really enjoyed the festival as well! There were so many great movies that I got to see. I really liked being able to attend so many. I am very excited for next year and the films I will see! Great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

