“Baraka” by Ron Frike 70mm Film

A very tranquil soundtrack starts before the title shot of the film and I felt I was being taken on a spiritual journey. My sense of wonder perked up and wanted to go. As I looked, I saw a peaceful people living simple lives in a part of the world unaffected by the world that we’ve come to know. The faith and ancient religion of the primitive people in the film were very strong and showed how sacred it was to them, the ancient chants and rituals were well represented. Reflecting on the soundtrack of the film puts the viewer in meditation as the visually amazing National Geographic like production without narration or interference lulls the viewer into a state of calmness and reflection and the breathtaking locations captured by the excellent camerawork.

Then, a transition occurs. Cut to a chainsaw cutting down the tallest tree you’ve ever seen then all hell breaks loose. You’re awakened from the trance the film put you in and then you see the world as we know it. Every culture is well represented in this film and our human way of life as well. This is a well-done film and Ron Frike is an excellent director.

And finally, I consider this more of a reality film than a documentary. And let us not forget those poor baby chicks.

 

2 thoughts on ““Baraka” by Ron Frike 70mm Film

  1. The soundtrack along with the long slow visuals in between the fast paced action shots (for example: the chants, dances, war) really made me reflect on the world around me. The fact that there are million other things going on outside of my own mind, the classroom I’m in, the island I’m on, the country I represent… endless circumstances but we are all human. For the most part, with the same root values regarding family, love, self-worth. I agree, it is more like a reality film.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed your post a lot. I liked how you said that the movie put the viewer into a trance because it really did that. I felt completely entranced by the wide shots and slow, soft music. When the scenes picked up speed and the music, I snapped out of it like you said. That really kept me engaged.

    And yes, let’s not forget the baby chicks. I couldn’t watch that part of the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

