Internet and Convergence

We live in a day and age where the internet is basically your life. People use it for anything from looking up the meaning of a word to completing homework assignments, from communicating with others to watching a DIY tutorial. We have reached a point in our lives where we heavily depend on the internet because of its convenience and our fast paced, busy lifestyles. Nowadays, I think it’s safe to say that most of us don’t go a day without using the internet at least once for something.

I’m guilty of this as well. I mostly use the internet to complete assignments when I have homework to do, and in my free time I’ll use the internet to check various social media apps or to play certain games on my phone. I depend heavily on the internet to look up how to do something (i.e. how to set up a computer), watch videos on youtube (i.e. no-bake cheesecake recipe), or even look up the meaning of a word (i.e. define convergence).

Speaking of convergence, I actually did look it up and found out it’s the merging of mass communication outlets across various media platforms. For example, when shows like American Idol is shown on TV but then takes advantage of the internet by creating internet advertisements for the show, posting clips of performances, and encouraging its viewers to use the internet to vote for their favorite performers. There are many other shows that have followed this same process in order to get higher ratings and make their voting process easier/more convenient for the viewers. It isn’t just TV shows either, various companies or even radio stations use the internet, as well as other forms of media such as newspapers, television, or radio (for companies), to advertise their business or just  get their service out into the public so more people will know about it.

It’s amazing to think about how far we’ve come with technology and the various/multiple ways in which we communicate through media. As the years go by, technology keeps improving. It’s interesting to see dramatic changes that happen within just a few short years. It leaves us wondering with the constant question of where else technology and the internet will go in the future. My mind will constantly remain blown.

2 thoughts on “Internet and Convergence

  1. Hey Jenna,

    I completely agree with you! In our modern world not using the internet at least once throughout the day is a true rarity. Especially when you are a student and are either watching netflix or have a million tabs open writing and doing research. A few weeks ago I actually had a #showerthought and was wondering what would happen if the internet was gone for a day. I remember in middle school and high school when there would be power outages they would cancel school. Which was weird cuz like we live in Hawaii, so it’s like sunny and not cold. But whatever, I didn’t mind school being canceled. Anyhow, back to the internet being gone for a day, would it be like that, would the world have a “day off” because we aren’t able to execute any of our jobs without that connection. How would the world function. What kind of chaos would arise? I am genuinely curious. Great Post!

    -Alex A.

    Like

  2. I’m just as amazed as you are when I think about our technological advancements. Sometimes I think that it sucks that we rely so much on technology, but humans have been using tools to make life easier since the first recordings of man. I don’t know how I feel about the whole thing just yet, but I know I’m as guilty as anyone else when it comes to using it more than I should.

    Like

Leave a Reply

