Crime Dramas.

Crime dramas are one of America’s most iconic and successful genres, especially with the increase of crime drama shows that have recently emerged. Such as, Sherlock (2010), Hawaii 5-0 (2010), Orange Is The New Black (2013), Law & Order (1990), Sons of Anarchy (2008), Breaking Bad (2008), Riverdale (2017), and so many more. As well, America is know for its classic crime drama films, including, Goodfellas (1990), Scarface (1983), The Shawshank Redemption (1994), The Departed (2006), The Godfather (1972), The Wolf of Wall Street (2013), Sin City (2005), Bonnie and Clyde (1967), Nightcrawler (1976), The Maltese Falcon (1941), and The French Connection (1971). The crime drama genre is truly America’s genre.

I personally am not obsessed with crime dramas, although I do admire and have a few favorite films from the genre, such as Pulp Fiction (1994), The Silence of the Lambs (1991), and A Clockwork Orange (1971). What I like most about these films is how different they are. In Pulp Fiction I really liked the randomness and weirdness it pertains. It’s a Tarantino film, need I really say more. Although, I did find the cinematography and scriptwriting of this film to be remarkable and original, and I tremendously admire that. I think the narrative structure is truly one of a kind. Telling a story out of chronological order can be very tricky, especially since the film is 3 hours long, it can be easy to lose your audience. However, this film executed its narrative perfectly, and was very engaging and aesthetically pleasing. Looking at The Silence of the Lambs, I am a sucker for serial killers. I have watched a lot of documentaries about them, and am very curious about their psychological state. In which, when I read about what The Silence of the Lambs was about, I fell in complete love with the storyline. The film follows Clarice, a top student at the FBI’s training academy whom interviews Dr. Hannibal Lecter, an intelligent psychiatrist who is also a violent psychopath serving life behind bars for cannibalism and various murders. Hannibal Lecter is a psychiatrist, yet a serial killer, and I think creating a character like that is so unique and hooks the audience, well at least me, right off the bat. When watching the movie, you can recognize that when Dr. Hannibal Lecter is talking with Clarice he brings out his psychiatrist side, however, at the same time you wonder if that is his psycho minded side. You’re truly lost in this characterization of Hannibal, trying to figure him out, but can’t, because we are blurred between his sanity and insanity. It is truly brilliant and I think the characterization of Hannibal and Anthony Hopkin’s execution of the character was near perfect. Lastly, A Clockwork Orange is also about a psychopath as well, but what I loved about this film was its experimentation and how overall pleasing it was, cinematically, musically, etc. I think the camera angels and the various mise-en-scene’s fit perfectly with the storyline and characterization of the main character, Alex. Also, I really admired the soundtrack to this film. I think the unique songs for the film as well helped to create this unique world of Alex and what he is going through. Especially since he is very much into classical music. Overall, I truly think A Clockwork Orange is a true classic and original piece of work. When watching it you really are provoked strong feelings; discomfort, uneasy, pain, and betrayal. This film is one of the only films that personally provoked a lot of strong feelings within me while watching it, and that was due to its overall great production.

Although I am not really into crime dramas, I am really into crime thrillers and thriller action films. Some of my favorite films from these genres include the film series, Sherlock Holmes (2009 and 2011) with Robert Downey Jr., the current James Bond (2008, 2006, 2012, 2015) with Daniel Craig, the Bourne (2002, 2004, 2007, 2016) film series with Matt Damon, Inception (2010), and Rear Window (1954). I love mystery’s and action, and those themes tied into crime are some of the most captivating films. Crime dramas, to me personally, sometimes start to feel a little drawn out and excessive, but I do still think they are some of the most amazing films and is a true classic genre.

The global criminal economy in my opinion is a very serious and truly petrifying problem that is not talked about as much as it should be. I am not as aware of our current global criminal economy, so I cannot talk much about the matter. However, in relation to crime dramas it is possible that films and television shows could have induced and heightened global crimes, although I would not necessarily blame the genre. As well, I do think that we are not talking about this matter as much as we should be. Even though we live in Hawaii and do not see crimes as much here, global crime should be discussed more because it is a very serious and relevant problem.

2 thoughts on “Crime Dramas.

  1. I always seem to be drawn into these kinda things. What does that say about me? Clock Work Orange, Silence of the Lambs, both really Good. I really enjoyed your input on this!

    Like

  2. I agree that the global criminal economy is serious an intense and it should be addressed more than it is. Many don’t realize about the crime happening around their area if they don’t keep up with the news. Sometimes I find myself purposely avoiding watching the news because hearing about incidents happening around me can be scary and stressful, and with everything I have to deal with it can become overwhelming. The more I hear about all the bad things happening in our world it makes me more afraid of stepping out my front door. I’m sure I’m not alone in having these feelings towards the matter but because of the increase in crimes both domestically and globally it should definitely be looked into. Thanks for your post, I found it inspiring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

