Bruno Delbonnel

This is the intro to my paper I wrote for class. I don’t wanna bore you guys but, I really enjoyed learning about him. If you wanna let me know let me know. I talked about three of his movies Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children, and the French film Amelie.

Bruno Delbonnel is a French cinematographer who has been active in the film community since the 1970s. He was born in Nancy France in 1957 and in 1978 graduated from Université Paris Sorbonne with a major in philosophy and then a degree from École supérieure d’études cinématographiques (ESEC) which translates to College of Cinematography in Paris. There is not much about him from his early life but in an interview, he confirmed that the movie Ingmar Bergman’s The Seventh Seal had the strongest impression on him as a child and piqued his interest in film.  Over the years, he has been recognized for his talents in cinematography and his popularity has been growing. Delbonnel’s use of lighting, color, and format has given his work a more classical look and with his style and technique more recognition not only in Europe but around the world.

One thought on “Bruno Delbonnel

  1. Hey Izzy,

    You’re paper sounds so interesting and I want to read more. I absolutely love international films, especially french films. So when I read that this cinematography was French, I was quiet excited because I know a lot of his films. He was the cinematography behind the paper I wrote for MULT 2000, for the film Amelie. He also did Harry Potter which has totally underrated cinematography. Also he is a pretty cool looking dude, he reminds me of the main character in Split. Pretty cool. Great post!

    -Alex A.

    Like

Leave a comment