Cardcaptor Sakura: THE RETURN

NO

Cardcaptor Sakura was the best thing that ever happened to me growing up. It’s the perfect amount of cute, action, drama, and romance all in one package. It started as a manga series in 1996 and was turned into an anime in 1998. The artists, Clamp, have stated that the two main characters of this series, Sakura and Syaoran, are their favorites of all the series they’ve written and drawn over the years.

The artwork Clamp produces is very consistent with the 90’s style manga and I am infatuated with it. But with this new arc coming out, the art styles are completely different in the anime and I don’t like it.

I’m a creature of habit and when something I love changes, I don’t like it. I’ve been watching CCS since I was a tot and I’ve been in love with the Clamp story line since I was 10. The art never changes, even when the standards of manga has. Knowing that the animators don’t care or seem to not care about the original art style makes me angry and sad. I won’t be able to enjoy the anime with as much as I can with the manga and the whole storyline is probably going to be really confusing, but when you love something so much you never leave it.

Leave a Reply

