Delicatessen

This movie has to be one of the strangest movies I have personally watched. With all the cannibalistic chaos, still the director managed to fit in a cute little love story. I honestly was so confused when the movie opened with a man wrapped in newspaper and tried to get himself thrown away in a garbage truck. However as the movie continued, I understood he was trying to escape the unfortunate fate of being eaten. I loved the old time feel (not just saying that because I am young and have not really lived in such an era) and the concept that those with the most food, were considered the wealthiest. My overall favorite scene was when the butcher starts making love with his mistress and all of a sudden, the squeaking of the bed springs becomes a metronome for comedic genius. My final thoughts of the film are that I give it two thumbs up and a 10/10 in laughs.

Image result for delicatessen

Leave a Reply

