Final Paper Topic: Tiger King

The series I wrote my paper on is none other than ‘Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness.” This Netflix series was released on March 20th 2020, and gives the audience a deep dive into the world of big cats. When I say big cats, I am not referring to your typical household pets, I am talking about Lions, Tigers, and even the occasional elephant (Oh My). The documentary is constructed as such, we get up close and personal to the many characters and personalities that inhabit this strange world of exotic animals through interviews of several important players in this game as well as footage shot primarily by Rick Kurkham at the G.W. Zoo in Oklahoma. Kurkham was the head of Joe Exotic Tv, thus he had unrestricted filming access to the primary focus of this documentary, the Tiger King himself, Joe Exotic. The documentary also follows a similar animal sanctuary in Myrtle Beach South Carolina and another in Tampa Florida. As each episode finishes, it seems the subsequent is seemingly more bizarre than the last. Although it’s clear Joe Exotic is the star of the show, we also see lots of screen time from Carole Baskin of Big Cat Rescue, Jeff Lowe now owner of G.W. Zoo, Doc Antle of Myrtle Beach Safari and many more. After watching through the eight episodes, you will become aware of the world that is big cats. A world filled with politics, millions of dollars, celebrities, fame, and even murder. I’m sure each and every viewer has their own perceptions, and opinions on the matter, which is why I won’t drop any spoilers, but it’s evident that in this story, there may not be a good guy, and there may not even be a happy ending. In the end it’s possible that you might be left thinking that perhaps no one in this particular world of exotic animals is innocent, but some characters can be less evil. The most astounding part is that this is completely nonfiction. Definitely recommend watching!

3 thoughts on “Final Paper Topic: Tiger King

  1. I still hadn’t had the chance to sit down and watch this mess yet and see what the Tiger King craze is all about!

    Like

  2. I haven’t watched the tiger king and if I am being completely honest, I have no intention to. But I have seen many many tik toks using the “Carole Baskins” parody sound and I hate that I love it so much. It has been stuck in my head for weeks now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment