Strangers, Again vs Strangers Never Again

This short film series from the YouTube channel, “Wong Fu Productions,” has resonated with me for years. I found out about this YouTube channel about 10 years ago. Strangers, Again was one of the first YouTube videos that I have ever watched. I loved the storyline. I loved the way the script breaks the fourth wall and incorporates the audience into the short film. I also love that the moral of the story is relatable to anyone’s life. It was relatable to me back in the day and it also resonates with me today. The film is evergreen in teaching us the steps of a relationship. I got excited when I saw that Wong Fu Productions was releasing a 3-part series of the continuation of the first short film. 

Wong Fu Productions have come a long way from their first short films to their short films produced today. Comparing the two I could tell their skills have dramatically improved with the enhanced quality of lighting, advanced camera techniques and more composed editing. 

The first film had shaky camera movements, the resolution was pixilated due to the low-grade camera used and poor lighting were used in some scenes. The overall film was not color corrected yet the storyline played a prominent role in a great production. 

The 3-part sequel which was broadcast on their 10th anniversary displayed advanced techniques learned throughout the years. The overall look and feel of the short film are more composed and the shots used had a better flow than the first film. Lighting techniques and quality of equipment also made the sequel more cinematic than the first film. 

Watching the first film again brought me back to nostalgic times because the fashion was different at the time to the 3-part sequel. The characters showed a progression in age as well as showed a progression in the time of their lives. 

Overall, the quality of the storytelling is powerful in both the first film and played an important role to carry on to the 3-part sequel. Storytelling is crucial to a film’s success hence I think these are good examples to show that equipment and having a gratuitous budget for a film is unimportant when the storyline is grand. 

One thought on “Strangers, Again vs Strangers Never Again

  1. Their short films were actually one of the first things I watched on YouTube and I thought they were incredible. It’s eyeopening to see this company grow through the years in creating their “quality over quantity” content. You’re able to see how much they’ve changed through the years, but still keep their purpose on making these creative stories.

    Like

Leave a comment