Game of Thrones

I have read a few blog posts about other students’ favorite series and movies now, and therefore got inspired to write about one of my favorite shows as well. 04.17.2011 was the premiere date for the first episode of Game of Thrones on HBO in the U.S, and the last episode was available to watch 19th of May 2019. Since 2011 friends and media have been writing and discussing topics in the series, different characters, and actors, while I have just been listening or kept scrolling because I had never seen it myself. It got to a point where I thought it was too late to watch, and the hype was over until one evening I was bored and empty of ideas for other series to watch and I gave it a go. I quickly learned that it is never too late to watch a good series! I watched all the episodes in just over a month and a half in 2021, and it is now among my all-time favorites. 

The Game of Thrones plot is about different houses/families fighting for power, and the ability to rule over important land. Many claim they have the right to sit on the iron throne and this creates anger and wars which take the life of many innocent people. There are many characters and roles I find interesting, and the show takes a lot of twists and turns. It almost never ends as one could expect, and that just increased my enthusiasm for the show and left many cliffhangers for the next episodes and seasons. A lot of fans thought the last season went a little fast, and that the sacrifice of satisfying characters was a little too much. On the other hand I felt like the whole series has been like that, and people are just upset because they would like to see more. The last episode felt like an ending, but again there is room for things to happen and new conflicts to be made. Actually are fans, and HBO pushing the author of Game of Thrones George R.R Martin to continue writing because they want to see more and maybe a more satisfying ending. I guess we will just have to wait and see what the future holds.

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones

  1. Great post mkay! I share your perspective on how the sacrifices in the last season can be justified looking at series as a whole! This is after all which makes us almost nervous looking at it since nobody is safe when it comes to writing them off the show. Impressive to have watched them all in such a small amount of time! My psyche wouldn’t have handled it…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great analysis! I have watched the whole series myself and totally agree with you on your thoughts regarding the las season. I think you managed to get all the info a readers needs to get a good perspective on the series 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment